How you can Survive to 2025

 PAUL'S MARKET JOURNAL

How you can Survive to 2025

Remember 2023 when the Fed started raising rates? People freaked out on Twitter and Instagram, predicting a recession and a huge drop in real estate sales. It was all over the news. But guess what? The big recession didn’t hit, and real estate didn’t crash like everyone feared.

Sure- it’s been tough. Some folks can’t keep up with their mortgage payments, and rental incomes aren’t covering expenses for some landlords. Jobs are shaky, and incomes are down.

For me, transaction volume is slower, and my listings are sitting longer than I’d like. I'm hustling three times harder for my buyer clients compared to before.

Every day feels like running into a brick wall.

Staying Motivated

Despite all this, I’ve found two things that help me stay motivated and thrive until 2025: gratitude and taking action. If you are going through a difficult time, my hope is that this helps you to stay focused.

Gratitude:

  • I’m grateful for my clients and the opportunities they bring.

  • I’m grateful for living in a beautiful city with a beautiful wife.

  • I’m grateful for my son, who will be born in July.

  • I’m grateful for the sunshine, my family’s health, having a roof over my head, a car to drive, and a job I love.

It’s important that you are present in the real world. Two weeks ago I deleted all social media from my phone and found that my screen time was only 14 minutes per day. I felt more focused, clear headed and present. I check social on my computer to ensure I’m not missing opportunities- however it’s clunky and I log off after a few minutes.

While I focus on what I’m grateful for, I try to surround myself with people constantly. I go out for lunches, breakfasts, and events around town. Talking to others lifts my spirits and reminds me of all the good things in my life.

Taking Action:

I have a rule: no 0 days. Every day, I take action. If I’m burnt out by 4 PM after a day of cold calls, I go for a run because I can control my run and my movement. I can’t control whether or not people answer the phone.

When I’m feeling down, I focus on physical fitness, professional development, or working towards my goals. Setting a goal to talk to 50 people in a day usually leads to some positive experiences. So does attending a conference.

I’ve learned that the things that stress me out are often out of my control. I can't control the Fed’s interest rates, property management costs, or insurance premiums. By focusing on what I can control and taking action, I keep a positive mindset and therefore can pass it along to those around me.

Building Community

How does this play out for you?

If you are in the market to purchase real estate, meet with brokers, property managers, and other buyers. Strategize in these times. Converse with others on how others they are doing deals. Creativity wins.

If you are a struggling owner: meet with brokers, property managers, and other owners. Find out how they are making ends meet. Now isn’t the time to optimize, it’s the time to hold on. Do not be afraid of exploring your options.

Building a community around you helps you stay resilient against external factors. After all, you are the average of the 5 people you surround yourself with.

Survive and Thrive

The Fed might not cut rates this year.

A lot of folks talk about just surviving until 2025 by cutting expenses and being lean. While surviving is important, I believe we can also thrive by supporting each other

I felt the inflation rise before most because I saw home prices shoot up and more liquidity in the market. Now, I feel that pulling back, even if national data is slow to show it. When we look back from 2026, we’ll remember these tough times and celebrate how we made it through.

Until then, keep grinding and let’s thrive into 2025.

Announcements

I’m switching to ConvertKit, so you may see my emails come from a different domain next week.

With that being said, the reason I’m switching to ConvertKit is because I have a MAJOR new announcement beginning next week- stay tuned.

IN THE NEWS

Is One Company to Blame for Soaring Rental Prices in the U.S.?

Source: Getty Images

The FBI recently raided Cortland Management, a major corporate landlord, as part of a criminal antitrust investigation into RealPage, a software company influencing rent prices across the U.S. RealPage's algorithm, used by landlords like Cortland, has been accused of artificially inflating rents by coordinating pricing among competitors rather than responding to market demand. This practice has significantly affected rental markets, especially in cities like Atlanta, where rents have surged by 80% since 2016. Multiple lawsuits claim that RealPage's system creates a fixed market by using landlords' sensitive data to dictate rental prices. Despite RealPage's claims that its rent recommendations are optional, most landlords reportedly follow its guidance, contributing to rent inflation outpacing overall inflation.

In other news…

Elliot’s Off Market List

Be the First to Access Charleston's Real Estate Deals

Join Elliot Sperling, the “Off Market King” of Charleston Multifamily Real Estate, for exclusive early access to prime real estate opportunities in Charleston. Ideal candidates are experienced investors with a clear strategy, prepared financing, and a commitment to confidentiality. Properties range from 2 to 200 units in top submarkets like The City of Charleston, Mt. Pleasant, West Ashley, North Charleston, James Island, Goose Creek, Moncks Corner, and Summerville.

NEW PUBLICLY MARKETED DEALS IN CHARLESTON

I am tracking every single deal that is 2-200 units in the Charleston Metro area. Each week I provide a breakdown of the new to market deals. This breakdown includes:

  1. Analysis of current rental rates and pro forma

  2. Highest and best use of the property

  3. Economic/political conditions surrounding the property

  4. Creative ways to structure the deal

Currently, here is the breakdown of deals available in Charleston by unit count:

Single Family Rentals: 94

2 units: 36

3 units: 13

4 units: 17

5-10 units: 9

11+ units: 3

Individual deal breakdown is available to my premium subscribers. Follow the link below to sign up

Subscribe to Premium Membership to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Premium Membership to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In